Motion Blur Canon EOS 400d?

I want to achieve this effect and have something in focus as well, for example a person with a motion blur background, hwo do i do this ? IM A NEWBIE so i have no idea :(( PLEASE HELP!!

Update:

and i would like to know what mode i should be in? probably tv mode .. since thats where u control the shuttle mode yes? and it should be about f3.5 or lower ?

Update 2:

whoops my bad i ddint mean f3.5 i meant 1/100 etc hahahaa

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

What this is called is PANNING...

you'll probably want to have the shutter priority mode on and for starters set the shutter to 1/100 or so....now, the idea is to FOLLOW the object with your camera as the shutter is open...in kind of and arcing sweeping motion....

Its a good Idea to use manual focus...and you want to prepaln this type of shot...good ones aren't easy to get spontaneously.

SO lets say you want a picture of a biker racer crossing the finish line.

1. Set your camera up to be manually focused exactly at the finish line and keep it that way.

2. Now, when you see the bike racer coming...start getting him lined up in your view finder...now follow the biker with your camera...and just as he is getting to the focus zone...snap the shutter and continue to follow the biker with the camera in a smooth motion.

3. If you get it correct...you will have a beautifully in focus crisp clear biker, with a blurred background.

• 1 decade ago

Rear curtain flash would work very well for this.

The technique is to use a fairly slow exposure (determined by the ambient light) and just before the shutter closes the flash fires freezing the action.

The result with someone running, skateboarding or cycling towards you or across the shot would be they would be perfectly exposed and sharp, but the blur recorded by the low shutter speed would be trailing behind them.