Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentMilitary · 1 decade ago

Will dropped charges keep me from joining the military?

Will dropped charges keep me from joining the military?

im 20 now i wanna join the navy. i got arrested when i was 16 for illegal position and drug paraphernalia but got a Y.F. on it . again when i was 18 for breace of peace and interfering but b.o.p. was dropped. and again when i was 19 for larceny 6th b.o.p and robbery. robbery was dropped because it was larceny blow out of proportion.

im getting off probation in a month but i got 2 years till may 15 2010 if i didnt try to get off

will this keep me out of the military esp navy or army

i was only guilty of b.o.p. larcany 6th and interfering all others were dropped

i will be off probation in a month

and yes i graduated high school

when i join could i be on close watch wit the navy like on probation with them and yes i turned a new leaf. dropped the idiot friends i had and think before i do things now

navy i plan on gunners mate

army i plan on infantry

what i hate is it wasnt robbery at all it was just the kids i was with stealing things and they got caught and no force was used

i also work at ups for almost 2 years wit no problems at work

ive talked to my recruiter and said i have to get off probation before anything happens which will be in a month. im sure he wouldnt say that if he knows that i couldnt join thats for the navy

is there a wait after probation

youthful offender = y.f.

B.O.P. = breace of peace

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

You have to complete your probation first. You won't be eligable till May 16th 2010. Why would they drop a year plus off your probation ? If your on probation, your on probation. The military is not going to take you in and put you on "closae watch", where did you get that idea ? You will need a waiver for the larceny and interferring charges. The dropped charges need to be listed, but don't count.