Difference between an expensive HDMI cable & a cheap one?

What's the difference between the $7 12 foot HDMI cable I bought from eBay and this one? http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?produc... I mean, I thought a digital signal was "go or no go" meaning either it works perfectly or doesn't work at all. I use that $7 HDMI cable to connect my HD DVR to my $2000 Samsung 46" flat-panel and it seems to work just fine. Would I really notice a difference with a "better" cable? Reason I'm asking is because I'll be buying a blueray player or a PS3 in the near future and I'd like to get the most out of it. Thanx.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I have seen the same tv next to each other with two different HDMI cables. They looked exactly the same. I would stick with the cheaper one.

Source(s): I am a DTV field technician and supervisor
  • 4 years ago

If you need a longer cable then quality starts to matter, but the specifications for that length do remain the same regardless of who makes it. But the quality of materials will make a difference with longer lengths, which is why the cost goes up dramatically for them. Go for the quality for over 25ft or the receiver may not last as long - the internal components work harder cleaning up the signal. You want one cable that handles the length - not anything else. Connecting two 25 ft HDMIs is a big mistake, for example. That would result in a poor signal quality and/or other problems. Whether you need Monster vs some other comparable brand is debatable.

• 1 decade ago

I have seen the results of a couple of tests. Both indicate that monoprice cables and Monster cables performed identically up to 25 feet or so. So if you are running cables for 6 to 12 feet go with a $10 monoprice cable.

• 1 decade ago

Get them here for $5 including shipping. They're the same thing, there is no difference.

http://www.cabletrain.com/cables/video-cables/hdmi...