Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceSmall Business · 1 decade ago

starting a cleaning business?

I need advice..........

I have wanted to do this for some time now. I have gone back and forth between starting my business and feeling im not going to be successful with it. mainly because I don't know much on how to get clients. So my questions are.........

1) How do I do this legally?

2) What forms should I fill out?

3) any advice?

4) How should I advertise?

5) How do you cold call people?

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi,

I have been cleaning Residential Homes for a little over 20 years. It is alot of hard work, you have to pay attention to details etc. but is one of the best jobs for working at home and if you need flexibility.

1. Consider yourself an "Independent Contractor. Clients will look at you more as a professional (ex. plumbers, builders etc), than someone that charges by the hour.

2. If you plan on making your Business grow with employees, etc. you will need to become bonded and have a business license.

I work by myself, though, and take care of my own taxes etc. Have not had any major problems and this has worked for me.

3. The best "advertising" is word of mouth, but first you need to get that first client, of course. Put up flyers in grocery stores, etc in the areas you would like to work in. Talk to friends or family if they know of anyone interested. You can, also, advertise on CraigsList.org. for free.

When I first started, I put flyers in many, many post office boxes in our area. (I live in the country) Unfortunately, this did not work for me. People are funny about that. The flyer in the stores etc. worked very well. But again, my best clients have come from word of mouth.

I wish you the very best of luck in this business. If you have any more questions, please let me know.

GOOD LUCK!

Sue

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago