Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Computers & InternetHardwareDesktops · 1 decade ago

What is a good gaming computer for a lowish price?

I know gaming computers are NOT cheap, but I'm new to gaming computers (seeing as how I've always gamed on my regular computer) and am looking to get a gaming computer. The new computers just can't take the gaming anymore and I was wondering if anyone can give me any advice on buying a gaming computer (e.g. system requirements, low prices, brands, good quality, etc).

I play games like:

The Sims2

Spore

WoW

4 Answers

Relevance
  • DKHM
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Best Answer

Don't listen to those guys, sister. You can build a PC. It's not that hard. You can reuse many of the parts you already have (hard drive, network card, optical drives). You'll save money and you'll have the best gaming PC for your needs.

For a computer at this level, it shouldn't cost you more than $1200 to build your own, assuming you're reusing some parts. And you'll have a better PC than what you can buy for that money.

For what you're looking at playing, I'd recommend that you focus on the statistics you need for World of Warcraft. It is the most advanced game with the most stringent requirements. Here they are:

http://us.blizzard.com/support/article.xml?article...

Use a video card actually mentioned by name in the requirements. And DO NOT use a version of Direct X higher or lower than the one needed by your game. In this case, DX9.

That means, you need Windows XP, because Windows Vista would force you to use DX 10. Which might work, but it would probably be buggy for the older games, especially Sims 2.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTool...