Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentMilitary · 1 decade ago

What math will a student be required to know and learn when enlisting in the Navy?

I am a math teacher and my student told me he is planning on joining the navy and does not need this information...what math skills will he need?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

It depends on your job.

I'm a STS Submarine Sonar Technician. I use a fair amount of all of these, plus others everyday,

Simple Math

Trigonometry

Algebra

Calculus

For some allot of deductive reasoning, process of elimination and pure out EDUCATED guessing goes into it. If you want to caveat this, allot of the math, not all is done in your head, no pens, paper, or calculator, and being wrong can be bad, very bad.

Source(s): Current Submarine Sonar Chief
  • 1 decade ago

He's wrong! (Imagine that! A teenager who is wrong?!)

While he's in boot camp, he'll have to run a mile and a half in less than 12 minutes and 15 seconds. This will likely be on a quarter mile track. Does your student know how many laps he has to run to get up to 1.5 miles? If he completes his first lap in 2.5 minutes, is he going fast enough? Can he figure out how well he is doing when he gets his lap times? Can he do this when he is breathing heavily and sweating an ocean?

Is 50 pounds of firemain pressure enough to fight a fire? How long will five gallons of foam last fighting a fire with a 1.5" hose? With a 2.5" hose?

And all the above is just for recruits! If he wants to do more than clean toilets and chip paint, then yeah, he's going to have to be familiar with at least basic math.