What are the best elementary-level (Pre-K through 4) children's books with good dialogue/characters?

I'm a substitute teacher. My two favorite books to read to classes are Ira Sleeps Over (Bernard Waber), and Medio Pollito/Half Chicken (Alma Flor Ada). Big Anthony and the Magic Ring (Tomie de Paola) is not as good a story, but is fun, too.

Mostly, though, these books have lots of great characters, and I love doing voices.

Can you please suggest some more children's books I can read in elementary school (PreK through fourth grade) that are GREAT stories, and are character and dialogue driven?

Thanks!

(I am also posting this in the primary education topic.)

Update:

I'm interested in non-chapter books. That is to say, I am interested in books I can start and finish in one sitting. Thanks.

1 Answer

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I once read that parents should read aloud books that they love as much as their children do. So here are some that my kids (now 9), my husband, and I have all enjoyed:

When I Became a Pirate, by Melinda Long (ages 4-8): Jeremy Jacob loves the fun things pirates do, but then he finds out what they don't do (like getting tucked into bed).

Diary of a Worm, by Doreen Cronin (ages 4-8): hilarious diary entries from a worm with a best friend who's a spider and a sister who's a pest.

Frog and Toad, by Arnold Lobel (ages 6-9): Talk about great characters - a little reminiscent of Sesame Street's Ernie and Bert. Toad's constant refrain, "Blah," has become a family byword for us.