Average hourly pay for a busboy?

I just applied for a job as a busboy at a local restaurant, and i was wondering how much money i should be expecting per hour.

By the way, don't you also get a percentage of the waitor's tips?

9 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Best Answer

minimum wage, and no

• 3 years ago

Average Busboy Pay

• 1 decade ago

I think it depends on where you work (the hourly pay and whether or not you get tips)

When I worked as a busperson for a local diner, I was paid $5 per hour and I received a 10% tip out from the servers. If there is a set tip out percentage established by your restaurant, you probably shouldn't expect to be tipped higher by the servers (it's their tip money, some are reluctant to give it up).

There were times that I would have to go to the owner/manager of the diner because the servers did not like to tip out, some would avoid me until they went home to avoid paying...

Source(s): personal experience
    • oneota6 years agoReport

Decades ago when I bussed, we were also supposed to get 10% of the waitresses' tip money. In reality, a number of them under-reported their tips, so we made a lot less than they did.

• Bmage
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago

Well, I know when I first started out as a busboy, the hourly wage was $5.75 per hour.. I think it's increased for the minimal hourly wage recently though.

I would expect anywhere between $5.00-$7.50 per hour, depending on location.

Also, the waiters/waitresses are under no obligation to give you tips. If they feel like you helped out quite a bit, they likely will tip you. The hourly pay for a waiter/waitress is low to help balance out the extra income from the tips.

Source(s): 3 yrs working in a restaurant. Busboy, dishwasher, line cook, buffet/salad bar management, prep cook and more.
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 4 years ago