Panda
Lv 7
Panda asked in Society & CultureEtiquette · 1 decade ago

being put on hold, how long is too long?

we've all been put on hold. How long do you think is too long? I was asked "could you hold a moment" after 9 minutes and no service I gave up and hung up. I was trying to schedule appointments to see my psychologist. when I worked in customer service I was told to not let anyone wait longer than 2 minutes and if it was going to be longer that I needed to pick up the phone and ask them to wait just a bit longer or offer to call them back. My former boss told me theres something about the magic two minute mark, after that people start to feel annoyed.

15 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

At my office the phone begins to beep after a caller has been on hold for one minute and if I'm doing reception, I usually pick up and let them know the status - and see if they would rather be transferred to voicemail.

I wait no longer than 5 minutes on hold, unless I've been warned before time that the wait may be longer because of a good reason.

• 1 decade ago

I'd wait around 5 minutes max. After that, i generally call back. When they ask if i'll hold, i simply say. I already did and no one came back. I waited for over 5 minutes, i need to make an appointment. Is someone else there who can help you manage this possibly? They generally then do the work.

When yo ugo into your psychologist, explain that you were on hold for more than 9 minutes when you finally hung up and were unable to get anyone to give you an appointment. This should help resolve the issue.

When i worked a busy desk job like that, i would pick up the phone after a minute or two max, ask them for their number and tell them i'd call them back. I would not want them to hang up. When i know i am on a lengthy call in my own business, i ask them to hold for a moment and again, ask for a number to call someone back.