Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesPhilosophy · 1 decade ago

Our entire society and culture is based around a lie?

We're used to thinking that we're "special", we're "different", and we're "unique". But in reality, none of us matter as much as we think. From a macroscopic view, we may be different than everyone else, but certainly not in a irreplaceable manner. Take me for example. I'm an engineering student, and the society and my family have invested heavily in my future as a successful career, but if I failed to accomplish this, replacements are easy to find. Another engineer trained in the same manner may look, sound, and act differently than me, but he/she will serve the society just as well as I would, so what does it matter?

The entire capitalist system of our society revolves around this idea of individualism and pragmatism, resulting in a system (ideally) maintained by nothing but laws, and people acting in whatever manner they wished within the confines of those laws, always placing self-interest (I'm special, I'm important) at the forefront. What if those laws break down? What about its loopholes?

Even our political system is centered around this idea of self-importance. The Western style of democracy, at least in theory, stresses the importance of individual participation: that the will of individuals, when accumulated, bears great weight. While this is true, note that the focus is placed on the society, not the individuals. In other words, it's the general consensus of the society that matters, not what each of us think. To think that "my vote matters" is nothing but self-indoctrination.