Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentMilitary · 1 decade ago

How does one go about becoming a test pilot?

I am 20 years old and in my third year of environmental engineering. I want to get my masters in aerospace engineering which will take an additional three years. I really just decided that I would like to get into military aviation. I understand that this was a very late decision since I have no background with cadets or anything of that nature. Is it too late for me? I was on the USAF website reading up on qualifications and procedures. Also, is there an "ideal" degree and is a masters even a significant advantage? Any advice would be much appreciated. Thank you.

Update:

I meant that I would like to eventually become a test pilot. I know that you don't just start there. So how do I get my "thousands of hours" as a fighter jock?

Update 2:

So are you saying that degree difficulty is not taken into consideration? I don't understand... my GPA is only 75%.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Your best bet is to beat feet over to the nearest AFROTC detachment. If there isn't one at your school, there maybe one nearby with a crosstown agreement. Take a look at http://www.afrotc.com under crosstowns. I have two cadets who came in as college juniors and are working on their masters now. One will finish prior to commissioning and the other won't.

Major is irrelevant. GPA is everything. The pilot board looks at Commanders ranking (GPA is a factor), GPA, AFOQT, PFT and PICSM (again GPA is a factor). A lot of my aerospace science cadets do not get picked up but my business majors do.

Source(s): AFROTC instructor
    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago