nejihy asked in HealthMental Health · 1 decade ago

How to stop stuttering?

I've been stuttering ever since I was 7 years old. Im 14 now and I want to make friends and talk to people, order food do anything. I don't know how to stop. Slowing down doesn't help, my mom and dad wont take me to speech therapy, I have tried reading out loud but didn't help. Can any of you please help me?

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

Research Charles Van Riper, he was the first SLP to do a lot of extensive research on stuttering. I also agree about the public school therapist, that service should be provided to you. Also if you live near a college they might have a speech and hearing clinic that you can go to. Back to Charles van Riper, he started syllable timed speech where you clap your hands or snap your fingers with every syllable you say, a metronome might also help. I wouldn't try this in public, but try to have a conversation with yourself trying this. It sounds really robotic but it helps. Van Riper was a stutterer his whole life and he used this technique.

Source(s): BS in Speech Language Pathology and Audiology
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

I stuttered ever since I could remember. And It was embarassing and I couldn't even rent a movie because I couldn't give them my phone number without stuttering like crazy. My parents took me to speech therapists and everything but nothing worked. Seriously, slowing down didn't work, the speech therapist didn't work, reading out loud didn't work..nothing worked. But it just seemed that as I got odler, it went away. I am now 22 and it's gone. I think I'm much more relaxed and I really don't know what happened. Just try talking slowly and that helped me a little..just one word at a time..seriously. A lot of people don't understand people who stutter, they basically just make fun of us, but it's not your fault. It usually goes away when you get older, that's what my doctor told me. And now I don't stutter at all.