Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Anonymous asked in TravelUnited StatesWashington, D.C. · 1 decade ago

what does district of columbia mean?

2 Answers

  • Adam
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    The District of Columbia is the formal name of the capital of the United States, most often referred to as Washington, DC. (DC stands for District of Columbia).

    The District of Columbia is a separate federal territory under the exclusive jurisdiction of Congress. That is to say, the city is not part of any state.

    The name itself comes from the fact that it is a District and "Columbia" comes from a poetic name for America used in the 18th century.

  • 5 years ago

    Washington, D.C. formally, the District of Columbia and commonly referred to as Washington, the District, or simply D.C. is the capital of the United States, founded on July 16, 1790. The City of Washington used to be a separate municipality within the District of Columbia until an Act of Congress in 1871 effectively merged the City and the District into a single entity. It is for this reason that the city, while legally named the District of Columbia, is known as Washington, D.C. On July 16, 1790, the Residence Act provided for a new permanent capital to be located on the Potomac River, the exact area to be selected by President Washington.[b] As permitted by the U.S. Constitution, the initial shape of the federal district was a square, measuring 10 miles (16 km) on each side, totaling 100 square miles (260 km2). During 1791–92, Andrew Ellicott and several assistants, including Benjamin Banneker, surveyed the border of the District with both Maryland and Virginia, placing boundary stones at every mile point; many of the stones are still standing.[6] A new "federal city" was constructed on the north bank of the Potomac; however, two independent municipalities were already located within the District: the City of Alexandria, founded in 1749;[7] and the City of Georgetown, founded in 1751.[8] On September 9, 1791, the federal city was named in honor of George Washington and the district was named the Territory of Columbia, Columbia being a poetic name for the United States in use at that time.[c] Congress held its first session in Washington on November 17, 1800.[9]

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.