I just became vegan and was wondering: is vaseline vegan?

i want to make my own skin cream and was wondering if it is. if not do you have a good recipe for making a vegan skin cream?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Favorite Answer

    Vaseline as a brand is not vegan (It's made by Unilever who use animal testing). There may be some brands of petroleum jelly that are, but it isn't really very good for your skin anyway. It acts as a barrier instead of actually adding moisture to your skin. So, as an example, let's say you have dry or chapped lips. If you put petro. jelly or something whose main ingredient is petro. jelly on them, it will keep them from getting any drier when you're out in cold/windy conditions, but it won't actually heal them at all. You're better off looking for products or recipes whose main ingredients are aloe, olive oil, coconut oil, cocoa butter, vitamin E oil, almond or grapeseed oil, etc.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • pinel
    Lv 4
    3 years ago

    Is Vaseline Vegan

    • Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    5 years ago

    This Site Might Help You.

    RE:

    I just became vegan and was wondering: is vaseline vegan?

    i want to make my own skin cream and was wondering if it is. if not do you have a good recipe for making a vegan skin cream?

    Source(s): vegan wondering vaseline vegan: https://biturl.im/FRUqL
    • Login to reply the answers
  • 4 years ago

    Yes, vegans can eat bread but, some breads contain buttermilk or milk derivatives or cream or eggs. It is a good idea to always thoroughly check the ingredients. I don't eat bread that often but, when I do, I buy it from the health store out of preference. I live in ireland and I find you can't get the type of healthy bread i like to eat in most stores. I buy spelt rye bread or rye and linseed bread. I think it is so much nice than other bread and it doesn't clog your intestines either with dough. Good luck, if your in the states/canada/england there's a lot more choice.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    White petroleum jelly like Vaseline is made by filtering with bone char, and would not be considered vegan by people who are very strict.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

    Yes, Petroleum jelly ( Vaseline )is made from petroleum, ( oil )

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Petroleum

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Petroleum_jelly

    • Login to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.