Ph.D for astronomy....?

How hard is it for one to get a Ph.D in astronomy? What type of benefits could you get out of it? I'm a major space freak, currently attending a college already.. trying to get my Bachelors then Masters but after I finish with this one, I wanted to follow the lines of astronomy. I just want to know what type of path can this lead down to? I've my research with college professors but they don't really tell me much such as what are the fields out there, is it mandatory to get a Ph.D, and what are some great schools.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I have a PhD in astronomy.

How hard is it? That's a tough question to answer. It depends on many things. What school did you go to, how devoted are you, what educational background/experience do you have? The list could go on.

But, if you're really motivated, then it's not too hard.

What will you do with your degree? Well... If you're not interested in being an academic (ie. a professor or scientist at a university or research institute), not a whole lot. That's because astronomy is not terribly applicable to many forms of industry. However, your education in statistics, physics, and science in general are extremely marketable. I have several friends with either an MS or PhD in astronomy which have left the science to pursue jobs in economics, computer science, forensics, engineering, and the military (albeit closely related to engineering).