How do I become an exchange student? ?

i'm 15 years old and I want to be a foreign exchange student. i'm from canada. how would I do this? is it really expensive? also, what's it like? do you think it's worth it? what would be a good place to go?

Update:

umm do I have to trade with someone?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Feisty
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi there!

Congrats on wanting to become an exchange student! It's a great experience. Since I've been hosting and repping exchange students for over 14 years now, I can answer your questions with a bit of authority. (Please be aware of those up here who have been plagiarizing my answers lately -- but not getting the info quite right.)

First, the organizations:

The top three organizations (of the hundreds out there) are AFS, YFU and Rotary. Here are their websites:

http://www.yfu.org/

http://www.afs.org/afs_or/home

http://www.rotary.org/en/StudentsAndYout...

All three offer full year programs. Rotary is the cheapest, but most competitive. Except for Rotary (which is more need based) being an exchange student IS expensive. For a year, about $8,000 - $10,000 US depending upon your program.

It is definitely worth it! Not only will you learn a new language, you'll become more independent and colleges and universities love former exchange students. In the US, many offer preferred admissions and/or scholarships.

As to where you would like to go, that really depends upon your interests and reasons for going. If you are an English (or French) speaker, I don't recommend English or French speaking countries - you lose the benefit of language immersion. However, if you want to explore your cultural roots -- that's a good reason to pick a country. If you want to learn about a new culture -- that's also a good reason. Most organizations are going to ask you to pick three choices.

For more info -- this site has a lot of help!

http://www.exchangestudentworld.com/