Community College Vs. University?

Hi, I'm new to the U.S. so I'm very confused about the whole Community College vs. University things. My teacher told me that if I decided to go straight to a university after I graduated high school,let say Temple University, I will spend four years there and get a bachelor degree. However, if I decided to go to a Community College first, let say Bucks, I'll spend two years at Bucks and then I'll transfer and finish another two years at Temple and get a same degree. Is that true? If that is true, why would anyone want to go straight to a university first? Because I know Bucks, for example, costs only 3,000 a year while Temple costs more than 10,000. Why don't they just go to a community college and save up some money for univiersity?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Best Answer