MAKADOODLE asked in PetsCats · 1 decade ago

At what point do you decide to put your cat to sleep?

My 18 y/o cat that was appx 9 lbs healthy is appx 4 llbs now. Every vertebrae is palpable. I smell cancer with every exhale. (I'm a hospice nurse). He still eats, drinks and sits on my lap and purrs at times. He doesn't always find the litterbox anymore. He is blind and gets lost and I find him everywhere looking for something. He looks like one of those toys that hits a wall, moves back, and hits another wall. It would be funny, if it weren't so sad. When I try to redirect him, I feel his bones creak to where it is Gross almost. He is so fragile. He is so noncomplaining and lovable. How can I let go? I know it is almost time. I guess he has to completely quit eating. What are your thoughts?

12 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Cats not only purr due to pleasure, they purr when in distress. I can, immediately, think of eight cats who became, irretrievably, ill at18 and one of them, as yours, had lost half its' body weight - their owners had them put to sleep (one is a DVM friend - three cats were hers).

As a hospice nurse, you know cancer isn't 'comfortable' to live with and I hope you're asking this, detailed, question because you wish to have an honest opinion and, also, because you know it's 'time' but can't muster the courage to do what, in your heart, you know you should. God did not allow this animal to come into your life bearing a tag which said, "Here to satisfy your needs" - the tag said, "Love me and be kind to me". Try to imagine yourself blind, cancerous, in pain (without a morphine pump) and half your body weight. I've said 'farewell' to 10 cats during the past 48 years and still have the scars.

As many times as my heart has been wounded when I've had to have a pet put to sleep, I know God created them with a life-span shorter than mine so I would be able to care for more than a few while I'm here.