What would I need to do to become a CEO from the ground up?

I am currently a high school student, and am thinking about becoming a CEO as a career. What would a position of that type require, education and training wise?

Also, are there any books you would recommend that could help guide me to becoming a CEO? Or maybe just rich and successful in general???

Thanks!

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

CEO's can come from any where. It's not something you study for, or take CEO courses. You become highly proficient in any field of your choosing through education in that field and much experience. You can not graduate from college and be hired as a CEO unless you started your own company and appoint yourself the CEO. CEO's don't all make great pay. Once again. it depends on the company, the product or service you are building or selling. Usually, higher paid CEO's have a variety of different backgrounds, they could start out as lawyers, or doctors then move into the business sector. Companies hire "high paid" CEO's that have numerous degrees and with several experiences in different fields required by the hiring company to move the company in a profitable direction.

Source(s): Business Management experience. Own my own company
  • Jack M
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago

get real you should graduate from h-s at a very early age-and college by 19 with a masters i know my stepson was a ceo at 24 and he now owns the company at age 42

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

Work.

Lots of it.

No, really. You don't need an MBA, contrary to what people may tell you. While it's good to know business philosophies and practices, it's not vital.

CEO is not really a career path. A CEO just happens to be the chief executive officer of a given organization or company. That doesn't always mean being a businessman per se. Lots of CEOs are simply people who worked their way up from the bottom.