Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

A new career choice? Is this a phase?

All my life I have wanted to be an environmental engineer. But for over a year now, I have wanted to be a racehorse jockey. I have looked into a racing college, gathered plenty of facts, lost some weight, strength trained, and talked to my parents about my choice. They insist this is only a phase.

What do you think? Is this a phase? Should I pursue my "new" dream? How can I convince my parents this is not a phase and get their support?

Update:

...I have owned and worked with horses since I was nine. I have lots of experience riding English and have trained one colt to ride.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Having different dreams at different times is only natural. We search ourselves at certain ages and find new things within us, new desires and new goals. Seeing that your two choices are very much different, what I would do if I were you is search myself for the bigger goal that stands behind those two dreams.

I would ask myself "What can I contribute to the world as an environmental engineer? Do I care about contributing to the world? Will having contributed to a greater cause make me fulfilled or is it of no importance to me?"

I would ask myself the same questions about the other career. Analyze what my life might be like later, what I would do after college, set some main goals for the next 5 or 10 years (i.e. what I would like to achieve in 5-10 years).