Motion picture composers?

I've been getting rather interested in motion picture sound track composers. I have a friend who's planning on being a director, and I'm a composer in training so I'm probably going to be the one who makes his soundtracks. I was wondering if any of you could tell me some good motion picture sound track composers. I already John Williams ofcourse, not to mention Häns Zimmer and Stephen Sondheim, David Holmes (not sure if he's made that many movies except the Ocean's 11 series) and David Hirschfelder . Any other good ones I should actually look into to become an afficionado? Thanks

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

Vangelis

Bill Conti

Neal Hefti

Nino Rota

John Barry

Francis Lai

Max Steiner

Ernest Gold

Klaus Badelt

Alan Silvestri

Miklos Rozsa

Frank De Vol

John Addison

Maurice Jarre

Danny Elfman

James Horner

Henry Mancini

John Carpenter

Basil Poledoris

Jerry Goldsmith

Elmer Bernstein

Ennio Morricone

Bernard Herrmann

James Newton Howard

I also love the works of Tangerine Dream.

This Wikipedia link will take you to a list of composers. Click on a name, and it will take you to the composer's page, listing films s/he has scored and discussing writing style, including influences.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_film_score_co...