Turkey help? Frozen, brine and frying!?

Hello!

I'm not very experienced with cooking turkeys, and this is the second year we will be frying our turkey, and this year we would like to brine.

I bought the turkey (frozen) yesterday and put it in the fridge. My fridge is kept pretty cool, so things take forever to defrost.

My question is, if I take the turkey out tonight, put it in a cooler with a few ice packs, and keep it in a cool place, will it be ok to brine it tomorrow overnight and fry it on Thursday?

If it's still a little frozen while brining is that ok?

Thanks for any advice!!

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Dave C
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

How big of a turkey?

A 10 to 15 lb turkey takes about 3 days to defrost in the refrigerator.

What type of turkey?

Look on the label... to make sure the bird is not injected with a saline solution (i.e. Butterball). If it is injected, then there's no need to brine.

Slightly Frozen and brining?

Generally, you want a defrosted bird to fully brine.

If the bird is 90% defrosted and just needs a little more time, you might luck out when you wash and clean the turkey. That may be enough to defrost the bird. Also, it won't hurt to leave the cleaned bird out of the fridge for an hour while you prepare the brine.

• 1 decade ago

I read an interview with Alton Brown about brining. He said that he's started to just put a frozen turkey in to the brine for a few days and letting it thaw out that way... of course you have to keep things cool, etc etc... so if your turkey is still slightly frozen, you should be ok, but I would start the brine a little sooner.

• bossie
    Lv 4
    4 years ago