Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

potty training a boy?

he is 2 1/2. i am having a hard time. please tell me how you did it and how long it takes for him to want to use potty on his own.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Go on Youtube and look up the "Elmo potty song", it's a little odd, but my son loves it! I think it helps him to see baby Elmo going potty just like him and that it's a normal thing to do, instead of mom and dad telling him yet another thing to do! I started training him at about 25 months, and we are done with the baby potty and we are on to the big potty with a stool so he can do it himself and that took a couple months. Just today he went all by himself from turning on the light to getting undressed all the way to undies back on (he doesn't bother with pants!!)!So from the start of training to todays' big success it took about 5 months!! I'm not saying this is what you should expect, but this is just my personal experience. I found it frustrating in the beginning, but now I understand that this is a very profound time in his life and that I just need to chill. I am very proud of him though! 2 1/2 years old and almost potty trained! Almost...