Now that the California Supreme Court has agreed to hear three challenges to Prop 8, do you better understand?

How the legal system works?

The California Supreme Court accepted three lawsuits seeking to nullify Proposition 8, a voter-approved constitutional amendment that overruled the court's decision in May that legalized gay marriage.

All three cases claim the measure abridges the civil rights of a vulnerable minority group. They argue that voters alone did not have the authority to enact such a significant constitutional change. The California Supreme court thinks these three particular challenges warrant consideration.

What do you think?

14 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

FINALLY! honestly why was it ever put to vote?

• April
    Lv 4
    4 years ago

I'm not a lawyer, but from what I hear it might have good legal basis. The idea is that Prop 8 did not follow the rules because marriage was laready legal here in California. In order to make such a sweeping change in the constitution a revision is needed, and like you said, that takes 2/3 approval. With Democrats having a majority (by 10) in the Senate and a majority (by 16) in the House, a 2/3 is unlikely. I hope that this thing goes down in flames. It seems to obvious to me that same sex couples should have the same rights and responsibilities as opposite sex couples.

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

Since it takes a 2/3 majority of Senators in CA, then I'd say a simple majority of voters don't have the power to amend the constitution and the ballot initiative system if flawed. May be good for other things, but not such important things as constitutional amendments.

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

It's great. Civil liberties should NEVER be put up for vote. And the rights of a minority should never be left at the hands of a majority. The proposition should never have happened.

C'mon, CA Supreme Court! Do the right thing... AGAIN!