josh asked in Business & FinanceCredit · 1 decade ago

About $2,000 in debt(20 years old)?

Hello. I'm a college student. I have $2,000 in credit card debt,between three different cards. I know that isn't much to some people, but to me it's a lot, I have learned alot from this and would like to get rid of it. I only make $5,000 a year.

I think it's best that I fix this now rather than ignoring it, because credit is very important.

Do you think I should consolidate this debt, is that possible?

Update:

I think I'm going to just buckle down. Give up my cell phone, and going out to eat with my friends. That should save about $150 now that I think about it.

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

It's possible to consolidate, but it may not bring the remedy you desire.

If you consolidate the cards into a single card payment, it won't reduce your monthly required payment. You can scout around for cards that have lower rates, though. And, many cards feature 0% rates for the first year on transferred balances. Even with a transfer fee of 3%, that can allow you to pay off quite a bit more of the outstanding balance during that year.

You can also seek an unsecured personal loan. This may, or may not, have a lower rate than the credit card debt. However, since such loans often spread debt repayment over 2-4 years, whereas credit card payments can run 5+ years, the installment loan will typically require higher monthly payments.

The bottom line is that only by digging your heels in and aggressively paying down the debt are you likely going to get out from under it in the near term. That will likely take monthly payments of $75+ (depending upon your actual interest rate).

• 1 decade ago

IT's great to see you are responsible enough to nip this in the butt before it gets to be a problem! Great job on that!