Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceOther - Education · 1 decade ago

How can I improve my work ethic with my filmmaking?

I'm a film student and make short films but my movies are getting worse and Im not improving as a filmmaker and Im getting worse... I got lazy and my pre-production on my last movie was horrible and the actors didn't know there lines and my shots weren't planned out and the movie was a train wreck... How can I be a better Filmmaker?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

How can you be a better filmmaker? Keep doing what you're doing!

Look, it's very important for you to understand that you are learning something from every experience. In fact, people tend to learn more from "negative" experiences than from positive. If everything always went the way you wanted them to, how would you ever progress as a filmmaker and as a person?

People who haven't failed, aren't pushing themselves hard enough. Just saying that you're "getting worse" means that you're still out there trying and THAT alone means that you're doing better than the majority of people out there who only SAY they want to do something. Actually DOING it is a success in and of itself.

So, keep making movies, but if you find that you're not advancing your skills in some way, here is my very sincere suggestion. Push yourself to do a larger project. I don't know what you've done so far, but instead of repeating yourself, put the camera down for a while and invest a lot more time into writing a longer form script. Write a feature length story that is A) produce-able within your capabilities and B) has potential to get noticed at a festival or bought at AFM or Cannes Film Market.