What is the difference between a County Court and a County Court at Law in Texas? A link would be nice. ?

I've been searching websites for a while, but haven't been able to figure it out.

Update:

Ok, well first, I have never been in jail. Second, there has to be a difference, I just can't find it. However, the Texas Legal Code says that County Courts at Law can have jurisdiction over condemnation procedures for eminent domain cases, but that County Courts do not. Thus, I'm trying to find the difference.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

wow! I don't live in Texas and I'm not a lawyer but this seems really complex. Wiki says:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Texas_judicial_system...

----

The Texas Constitution requires each county to have a single constitutional county court. This court presided over by a "county judge", who is elected at-large by the voters of the county. The county court has appellate jurisdiction over JP and municipal court cases (for municipal court cases, this may involve a trial de novo if the lower court is not a "court of record"), exclusive jurisdiction over "Class A" and "Class B" misdemeanors (these offenses can involve jail time), and concurrent jurisdiction over civil cases where the amount in controversy is moderately sized. There is no requirement that the judge of the Constitutional County Court be an attorney.

Since the county judge is also responsible for presiding over the Commissioners Court (the main executive and legislative body of the county), in most counties the Texas Legislature has established county courts at law. In most counties with courts at law, the civil and criminal jurisdiction of the constitutional county court has been transferred to the county courts at law. County court at law judges are required to be attorneys.