Background Check, Have Misdemanors Will i get hired?

Ok well here is my situation. I got a class A misdemeanor on 9/29/08 for shoplifting. I also got a misdeamor in college for possesion of marijauna. that was in 1999, that is still there acording to probation officer, i paid fines and need to get a lawyer to see if it can be expunged according to him. I also have messed up credit from a reposetion on a car in 2006 and credit cards that defaulted. I am trying to get my **** together and really realized how bad i have messed things up. I have a degree and have worked in IT for 5 years. I just got laid off of my last job and really need this job. It seems like very very intensive according to the disclosure agreement. They told me during the interview that i was the strongest candidate technically and they just fired a guy cause he didnt know much. Should i come out and tell them before the check and ask if i should even bother? how should i handle this? I need help

Update:

well the disclosure file says “investigative consumer report"

which may include information about your character, general reputation,

personal characteristics, and/or mode of living, and which can involve personal interviews with sources such as your neighbors, friends, or

associates, including motor vehicle record (or “driving record”) checks, workers compensation records, credit bureau files, employment references,

personal references, drug screening, any educational and licensing institution or military branch and to receive any criminal record information

pertaining to you which may be in the files of any Federal, State or Local criminal justice agency in Georgia or any other State

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

nope- i'm pretty sure you only need to let them know if you were convicted of a felony....

• Anonymous
    4 years ago

Get a No Cost Background Check Scan at https://bitly.im/aO18R