Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceHigher Education (University +) · 1 decade ago

College Major...Wat is it and what should I choose?

Ok...

so I'm a sophomore in high school and I know its a little early but I want to start thinking about my college major. I know that I either want to be a pediatrician or an OB nurse. So what should my major be? I don't really understand what a major is either...any help?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

A major in college is an area of study you focus in. Sometimes it ends up being a big stepping stone to a career, sometimes people end up in a profession completely different from there undergraduate major.

So, if you want to be a pediatrician, you're talking about a PhD. That's medical school. So, you would first go to an undergraduate program (college) where you'd probably major in something like biology. The major you choose isn't actually too specific, it's the course load you take. You can get into med school as an English major as long as you've taken all the necessary science classes, but since most people have to take the science classes anyway, they often choose to be a science major. While in college, then, you'd start looking into medical school. Then you'd go there for five or six years, then do a year or so of residency (that's like interning in a hospital or doctor's office), then you're ready to be a pediatrician.

Nursing is different and I'm not as clear on the details of that, but I believe you don't even need to get a BA or BS (the degrees you'd get at a traditional 4-year college). You need a special type of degree and some colleges will offer it, some don't. There are also special colleges with programs designed specifically for nursing. It's a very specialized program so while on a track to become a pediatrician you can have some freedom in your undergrad work, you'd want a more specific program for nursing.