Anonymous
Anonymous asked in PetsOther - Pets · 1 decade ago

Does pet land sell good rabbits ?

I wanna buy a good rabbit for my birthday and me and my mom cant seem to find a store that sells them so plase help me

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi....I've been raising and showing rabbits for 10 years. I'll answer your question and add a little more. Rabbits make very good pets with the right amount of attention and care. They are also very low maintenance. They do best alone, I never recommend housing them with another rabbit even if spayed and neutered. Spaying and neutering is really pointless, a waste of money, and an unnecessary risk and pain to the rabbits. Most claim that it affects the rabbits personality, but I have breeding bucks and does that are the sweetest rabbits you could ever find and have had fixed rabbits bite me, so really it all boils down to the rabbits individual personality and the amount of attention and handling it gets. Adequate attention from you is really the best option. The rule of thumb for the cage is that they need a cage big enough that they can lay stretched out in any direction and stand on their hind legs without hitting the top. Cages should be wire floored with a dropping pan (with pine sawdust, not cedar) so that they are not sitting in their droppings, the only thing you have to watch with that is if they get sore hocks. Sore hocks are places rubbed raw on their feet, which if they get them should have Preparation H applied to them twice a day until healed. But if you get a plastic resting mat with slots in it so droppings can still fall through they should be fine and not have any problems. Their diet should consist of a good, quality timothy pellet feed with 15-16% crude protein from somewhere like Tractor Supply or a feed mill near you. They usually come in 25 or 50 lb. bags and cost between $8 and $15 and will last you a long time so store it in something like a rubbermaid bin to keep it fr