I'm looking for ideas for a group camp in Yellowstone National Park.?

Next summer I want to camp in Yellowstone to celebrate my 70th birthday. I will invite all my close friends and family to join me, but I know many cannot do this.

I'd like to hear (from people who have done group camping there) about all the things the National Park Service pages doesn't tell me - things that I should know about group camping in Yellowstone.

What surprises did you encounter? What hidden expenses are there? Are the facilities adequate in large group campgrounds . . . .

Update:

OK, no one is answering about large group camping. So, anyone been basic camping and able to inform me on that aspect?

Update 2:

OK, no one is answering about large group camping. So, anyone been basic camping and able to inform me on that aspect?

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Well Happy Birthday (early!). I've been camping in the park for 18 years. We usually camp at Canyon Village but I think for a group you should go to Grant Village or Bridge Bay. They are laid out in a better way for groups. I don't think any of the campgrounds in the park offer "group" campsites. If you don't mind primitive then Indian Creek is nice too but is first come first served.

Only certain campgrounds offer services. All campsites are primitive with no hookups except for Fishing Bridge and you can only camp with big RVs there. Some campgrounds have dump stations, but not all of them. I know Fishing Bridge, Grant Village and Canyon do. The following are the ones that have showers (pay showers. Runs about $3.00 a shower) and laundry:

Fishing Bridge (has General Store with small diner and limited groceries, small visitor's center.)

Canyon Village (has General Store with diner, groceries, coffee bar. Also dining room and cafeteria and US post office and cabins. Very large and AWESOME visitor's center).