Where to go winter camping in Lake Tahoe?

I am planning to take my family and my puppy to do some winter camping this thanksgiving. I am planning to bring them to Lake Tahoe. It is my first time in the last 10 years to go camping. I am a beginner at this. I was wondering if anyone has some recommend campground. And also what to expect in winter camping? I don't think there will be too much snow, but it might be raining during the end of November. I read some review on Zephyr Cove Campground, and they had some horrible reviews. Any advices? Thanks.

Update:

Thanks for all the concerns. Two of my friends are experienced in winter camping, but they never camp in Lake Tahoe before. They normally go farther north to camp, but I wanted to camp somewhere around the lake, so I can get some nice sightseeing.

Update 2:

Thanks for all the advices. I will see how the weather is first before I make my reservation.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I'm a frequent winter camper and I spend a lot of time at Tahoe too. There are a few Tahoe area campgrounds that sometimes stay open in the winter, try Sugarpine Cove, Emerald Bay and Fallen Leaf Lake for some of the more scenic locations. The one risk about these areas (all on the west shore of Tahoe) is that part of Hwy 89 in this area is succeptable to closing during storms.

Another option a little further south is Grover Hot Springs State Park just outside of Markleeville. Grover is definitely open during the winter and the campground itself is pretty quiet. The top draw of this nice spot is the Hot Springs pool which is also open all year. It's a great place to relax after a hike, snowshoeing or skiing.