Is there anything else that I need to know before approaching a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc?

I am currently in my third year at college. During my freshman year I was able to maintain a GPA of 3.4 while keeping leadership positions in clubs on campus. I also applied for the Resident Assistant position, and that summer it was granted to me.

During my Sophomore year, (in fact the 3rd month) I lost my rock - My Grandmother. She was very ill, but her death took the ultimate toll on me. I lost my will to keep up with my school work and my GPA suffered. I took it upon myself to step away from the distractions of the over involvement in extracurriculars and focus on my academics.

I am now in my 3rd year...and midterms have passed. So far I am excelling in all of my courses. I am sure that my GPA will improve. I am now easing my way back into my involvement in Campus activities, and programs.

I have always been interested in Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated... but it wasn't until my second year that I realized how important it was to do research. For the past year I have been trying to learn and remember as much as I can about the sorority and the chapter on campus. I know the members on campus (and they know me). I have been to an Informational and numerous programs, but I have not made an individual effort to express my interest one-on-one. My biggest fear is not knowing enough when approaching them (even though i've studied so much).

I believe that anything worth having is worth working for. And I am willing to handle whatever is given to me as best as I can. I have also been passionate about community service for as long as i can remember (especially when it comes to helping our younger generation). I truly want to be able to better serve the community and promote academic achievement through the ties of this sorority. I have never been interested in any other.