emm
Lv 4
emm asked in HealthWomen's Health · 1 decade ago

Work for Volt or another temp agency...then become pregnant...?

I have been offered a position to work as a contract worker through Volt Temp Services. It is an 18 month contract position. Since I am a recent college graduate in chemistry, I am having a hard time getting my foot in the door of a major pharmaceutical company (Eli Lilly). This position would send me to work at Lilly and would be a great opportunity for me to get in there. My husband and I are also starting to try for a family...I know that it doesn't seen like a good time, but I am 30 years old...I waited through undergrad, waited through 5 years of graduate school...now I don't want to wait another few years till my career "settles". How will this effect my "temp" job, if I am on contract to work for so long, but if we become pregnant, I will need to take some maternal leave. I'M CONFUSED! I've not had alot of "real world" experience as I made the choice to school for so long...now I don't know how these situations are handled.

I just feel that if I wait for the perfect time to start my family, it will never happen. I'm 30, my husband is 32...this is not unreasonable.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

no employer temp or permanent can discriminate against pregnancy and people who have families. something called the family medical leave act is federal law. if you want kids have them.

• 1 decade ago