Adam asked in SportsOutdoor RecreationHunting · 1 decade ago

Question about 45 acp stopping power?

I just got this new Kimber Ultra Carry .45 acp in a 3" barrel. Is the short barrel going to provide me with enough velocity to accurately penetrate and stop an individual.

Update:

-I am not an expert when it comes to guns and ammo. I didn't realize shorter barrels affected overall velocity until after I purchased the gun.

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

AJ, the pistol you purchased for self-defense is an excellent choice. You should also be100% confident with that decision! Beware, of so-called Internet “gurus” who perpetuate misinformed information or focus on statistics that only marginally pertain to real-world situations. I believe that many of these so called experts exist to only convince themselves that their firearms are superior. So let me answer your question and put to rest your concerns.

COMPACT BARRELS POPULARITY:

A favorite handgun for self-defense and conceal carry is the Smith-Wesson J-frame revolver. The J-Frame revolver can be chambered for either the 38 or 357 magnum round and has a barrel length of only 1 /7/8”. In addition many leading manufacturers are building sub-compact firearms with barrel lengths shorter than 3”. The reason is that larger heavier pistols are more difficult to conceal or cumbersome to carry. When it comes to conceal carry being able to adequately conceal the pistol without “printing” is the utmost importance. The lighter/smaller pistols are easier to conceal and consequently more frequently carried than their heavier larger full size cousins.

BARREL LENGTH & ACCURACY: