Will skydive make you vomit?

I have weak stomach and hate roller coaster and also have vomit phobia. But I really want to skydive. I think the only thing holding me back from skydiving is the vomiting part. Please tell me your experience.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi! I'm a skydiving instructor from south east Virginia. I think I can answer your question.

I've been instructing first time jumpers for a couple of years and I'm not going to lie to you, I have seen a couple of people vomit. However, people actually vomiting is pretty rare and I believe you may have some misconceptions as to why.

Too frequently, people want to imagine skydiving by wanting to compare it to a roller coaster. Skydiving and roller coasters are not comparable, not one bit. In fact, one of the most common things I hear tandem students say after jumping is, "wow, that was nothing like a roller coaster." And here is why:

A roller coaster gives you a churning feeling in your stomach because it is exerting an acceleration force on your body. You're essentially going from dead stop at the top and starting a fall, accelerating with gravity. That force of gravity being acted on your body like that is the source of the feeling.