promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anne
Lv 5
Anne asked in Family & RelationshipsWeddings · 1 decade ago

Wedding gown shopping suggestions...?

Just going to start looking for the wedding gown for a june 2009 wedding. Where do we begin? How did you choose what bridal salon you would use? Or did you go to a bunch and compare gowns and prices?

What has been your experience with David's Bridal - they seem to be everywhere - how are their quality of gowns, customer service, the trying on the gowns experience, etc... would you recommend going there?

Any suggestions, experiences appreciated!

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I'm a bridal consultant, so I sell wedding gowns in a small, independent boutique. Here's some suggestions I give all my brides.

1. Go to lots of different stores, definitely check out David's, along with smaller boutique stores as well. Make appointments, and plan on roughly an hour per appointment. Go during the week if at all possible, Saturday's are absolutely the worst day, you'll get much better service on a weekday. People seem to think that David's has the best prices, and they frequently do, but a small store has negotiating power that David's doesn't have. I have a lot of brides who bought their dress from David's, but got accessories elsewhere. It seems their dresses are really inexpensive, but you can get better deals on the rest someplace else. NEVER get alterations done at David's. They're more than twice what a seamstress would charge.

2. Have a general idea of what you're wanting, how formal your wedding will be, etc. Are you having a destination wedding? Do you want a big, puffy ballgown or something more sleek? Take pictures from bridal magazines as well, both of stuff you like and don't like.