Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Science & MathematicsAstronomy & Space · 1 decade ago

Did Carl Sagan believe in the existence of life on other planets?

I know that Dr. Sagan was a member of SETI. I think he was brilliant.

My Fiancee was asking me if Sagan believed in life elsewhere, and I told her that he eventually concluded that there isn't any. Was I wrong?

What did he believe?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I studied under Carl Sagan for 4 years, and was friendly with him and went to his house many times.

Of course he believed in life elsewhere. Most any knowledgeable scientist in that or related fields believed that even then. The question is only one of frequency of occurrence, and that was a question that he could not hope to answer.

He knew that there are 100 billion stars in our galaxy. And 100's of billions of galaxies. And he supposed that most stars have planets (as we know today to be true). And he knew that the primitive amino acids that are the basic building blocks of life occur quite easily when dishing up a broth of primeval soup out of chemicals found on a primitive earth.

So he was certain that there is life on other planets -- around other stars.

Did he believe in the existence of life on other planets of our solar system? Well he didn't rule it out, but he found it unlikely. But he was hopeful, and devoted his life to finding out. Hopeful is the word that explains his opinions. Unfortunately he died before it became more likely. Europa for one. Mars is unlikely (in my opinion, not his.)

In my opinion, I believe that life occurs anywhere it can, and that is --most everywhere where conditions are right. Europa for example, perhaps. But intelligent life--very very rare among the planets that do harbor life. Its a matter of how stable the planet is to provide 4+ billion years of reasonable conditions.

Source(s): I have a Ph.D. in Astronomy from Cornell in 1972. Carl Sagan was my advisor.
  • kinkel
    Lv 4