Questions about Civil/Environmental Engineering ?

I am a high school student and am currently thinking about which programs to apply to this winter for univerisity. I am really thinking about civil engineering because I LOVE to build stuff, always have and like to learn physics/math. The problem is though I don't think I am that good in math/physics. My math grades have always been 75-78 from grade 9 to grade 11. In grade 12 I was able to get a 81 in advanced functions and currently have a 86-88 in calculus and vectors. I was just wondering if I would be able to handle civil engineering in university? Also if there are any people who had lower grades than me, can you please tell me how it was when you reached university. Thank you :)

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I agree with the last response. In engineering it is alot of work and as long as you are willing to work hard you can do it. I think many times the students who got straight A's in high school do much worse in college because they never learned how to study properly. Many of my classmates in college were not the greatest in math and still doing well in engineering. We had a student that wanted to be an engineer that started in basic math at the college level and was able to get his engineering degree.

I just graduated this past spring with my Civil Engineering degree. I cannot imagine doing anything else. Civil and mechanical are fairly similar especially the first 2 years of college. So I would definitely look at both.

If you have any questions about engineering feel free to contact me.

Source(s): B.S. in Civil Engineering
  • 1 decade ago

Being an engineer means being a problem solver. Your scores were low in math in the PAST, you determine your future.