promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
mixterrr asked in TravelAustraliaAdelaide · 1 decade ago

I'm a Kiwi looking at moving to Adelaide?

I'm going to be a secondary school teacher next year and basically I'm demoralised with the Labour govt and the ways things are going here in NZ. Many of my good mates are either considering moving to Oz or have already made the move. Want to know:

1. What is the job market like in Adelaide for a secondary school teacher?

2. House prices?

3. Cost of living and what the lifestyle there is like?

Thanks =)

Update:

I'm a social sciences teacher.

12 Answers

Relevance
  • Brooky
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Adelaide's quite a nice place, but with the rest of Australia to choose from (and as a secondary teacher you can pick and choose), why on earth would you go there?

Come to Queensland. Brisbane's housing is more expensive than Adelaide's, but it's not the only great place in Queensland. Avoid the Gold Coast though: it's expensive and not as good as hundreds of other places to live.

You'll get a decent 2 bedroom unfurnished flat in Brisbane for under $300 per week and the cost of food and other expenses will be about the same as in Adelaide. Houses are expensive to buy in Brisbane itself (400k+), but as you move out of town a bit (nowhere to go outside Adelaide lol) prices become more affordable.

One of my kids is a teacher here and while she doesn't earn a fortune, she still manages to live pretty well and her salary goes up automatically every year. Ours is the best lifestyle in Australia and we definitely have the best climate: imagine a 3 month long 'winter' where you'll never need a coat again!

If you're a physics teacher you'll be turning away desperate schools in droves and it's nearly as good for other science teachers. Maths is almost as good and there are jobs going begging in every other department.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago