Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

The Constitutional Convention?

Who was involved

What/Why did it happen

When did it happen

Where did it happen

How was it important to the Revolutionary War and the foundations of American gov't

3 Answers

  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    The Philadelphia Convention (now also known as the Constitutional Convention, the Federal Convention, or the "Grand Convention at Philadelphia") took place from May 25 to September 17, 1787, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, to address problems in governing the United States of America, which had been operating under the Articles of Confederation following independence from Great Britain.

    The purpose was to create a government that would govern the new nation after the Revolutionary War.

    Although the Convention was purportedly intended only to revise the Articles of Confederation, the intention of many of its proponents, chief among them James Madison and Alexander Hamilton, was from the outset to create a new government rather than "fix" the existing one. The delegates elected George Washington to preside over the convention. The result of the Convention was the United States Constitution. The Convention is one of the central events in the history of the United States.

    Before the Constitution was drafted, the thirteen colonies operated under the Articles of Confederation, created by the Second Continental Congress which eventually caused deep divides between the states that the national government could not resolve. On January 21, 1786, the Virginia Legislature, following James Madison's recommendation, invited all the states to discuss ways to reduce interstate conflicts in Annapolis, Maryland. At what came to be known as the Annapolis Convention, the few state delegates in attendance endorsed a motion that called for all states to meet in Philadelphia in May, 1787 to discuss ways to improve the Articles of Confederation in a "Grand Convention."

    Fifty-five delegates from the 13 colonies (except Rhode Island who did not send any delegates) attended the Constitutional Convention, 39 signed the Constitutional. This included:

    Richard Bassett

    Gunning Bedford, Jr.

    John Blair

    William Blount

    David Brearly

    Jacob Broom

    Pierce Butler

    Daniel Carroll

    George Clymer

    Jonathan Dayton

    John Dickinson

    William Few

    Thomas Fitzsimons

    Benjamin Franklin

    Nicholas Gilman

    Nathaniel Gorham

    Alexander Hamilton

    Jared Ingersoll

    Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer

    William Samuel Johnson

    Rufus King

    John Langdon

    William Livingston

    James Madison

    James McHenry

    Thomas Mifflin

    Gouverneur Morris

    Robert Morris

    William Paterson

    Charles Cotesworth Pinckney

    Charles Pinckney

    George Read

    John Rutledge

    Roger Sherman

    Richard Dobbs Spaight

    George Washington (president of the Convention)

    Hugh Williamson

    James Wilson

    William Jackson (Secretary)

    Delegates who had left the Convention earlier and did not sign

    William Richardson Davie

    Oliver Ellsworth

    William Houstoun

    John Lansing, Jr.

    Alexander Martin

    Luther Martin

    James McClurg

    John Francis Mercer

    William Pierce

    Caleb Strong

    George Wythe

    Robert Yates

  • 4 years ago

    John Lansing Jr Constitutional Convention

  • 4 years ago

    Robert Yates Constitutional Convention

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.