Using eBay protection program and eBay Safety Bank Account for buying and selling a car.. Is this Good IDEA?

I finally found the car I wanted to buy at right price at craiglist.com and I sent an e-mail to the car owner saying that I really want to buy your car if what you've described about your car is actually what it is.

She replied me saying that everything is right and she wants to use

eBay protection program for safety and for payment she prefers to use a eBay Safety Bank Account. And she needed my full name and address so she can open a case.(with no further obligation to buy it or fees).

This is my first time buying used car from the actual owner(not from the dealer), and I am not sure whether this is right process.

My concern is that the price she wanted me to pay for her car was relatively cheaper than the book value. (actually a lot cheaper)

Thanks for your help!

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

You know the old saying: If something sounds too good to be true, it probably is. I would never buy a car sight unseen, no matter how reassuring the seller is. Honestly, if you can't find one in town, go to a place like Cars.com. NEVER give out personal information to a total stranger. If she's not using Ebay, she cannot use their account protection services. Something smells like day old sushi to me.

If you cannot get to her area (or she can't get to yours), walk away from this thing.

• 1 decade ago

THIS IS A COMPLETE SCAM. Is the car sitting in your town and you've driven it and had it inspected and you've met the owner. Probably not.

Is shipping the car to you part of the transaction? If it is, walk away from this deal before you lose all your money.

These people are thieves and you are their target.

Ebay doesn't even offer the type of service being described.

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago