can a nuclear weapon explode if it is shot down in flight?

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I was a Nuclear Weapons Technician in the United States Navy for 12 of my 21 years. The answer to your question is a little more complicated than everyone may think.

I assume you mean can the nuclear package detonate and have what is referred to as a "nuclear yield" if the weapon is shot down in flight? The answer to this question is decidedly no. All modern nuclear weapons are inherantly "one point safe". As was correctly stated before, certain classified components of the weapon must receive the correct electrical voltage for the nuclear package to arm and fire. This is true at both the strategic (the BIG ones) and the tactical level.

However, the weapons in use today use fairly large quantities (you guessed it, ...amount is classified) of high explosives such as PETN (Penta Erythrite Tetra Nitrate), PBXN103 and Composition B to initiate the nuclear reaction. If the weapon is involved in some sort of calamity, high order detonation of the HE (High Explosives) package can occur. Specifically if the weapon is involved in a fire and the weapon case is vented (open) to the fire and the high explosives melt and then re-solidify. This mixture (similar in nature to Exudate) is extremely volitile and can explode simply from being breathed upon. This has classically been the biggest threat to firefighting personnel fighting weapons related fires down throughout the years.