Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Home & GardenMaintenance & Repairs · 1 decade ago

What is the best cordless drill/driver on the market?

I'm in the market for a cordless drill/driver. I would like to get one that is of superb quality and has as many applications as possible.

For example, I would like it to have a built-in level for both vertical and horizontal drilling. I wouldn't mind it having a light for use in dark places (e.g attic & basement). Also, I think an optional hammer feature may come in handy from time to time but isn't absolutely necessary.

I would prefer something well balanced with a comfortable grip. I'm not a professional contractor, but I am in the process of fixing up a house so the drill will see moderate use is the future.

I've read that when it comes to battery technology Lithium Ion is the way to go for a nice balance between power, weight, and longevity - or holding charge. I think an 18v Lithium Ion would be nice but am not dead set against considering something else - perhaps 14.4v.

I've looked at Makita, Milwaukee, and DeWalt. They all seem to make a nice product. Online searches say Panasonic makes a good one as well as Bosch. I'm torn. Any help from personal experience or even anecdotal is much appreciated.

Please offer your opinion regardless of price. Again, I desire a drill that has many of the above features and such a comprehensive drill/driver will have extreme value for me in the years to come whatever the price.

Thanks in advance.

13 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

The DeWalt 18v is a great drill durable and powerful.I own a kit.I also own a Ryobi kit. For the value and work load I will definitely recommend the Ryobi 18v lithium.If you do not plan on using it everyday and abusing it. It would be crazy to spend the money on Makita, Milwaukee, and DeWalt...Hope I could help.

Source(s): Electrician - 9 years
    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago