Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Computers & InternetHardwareDesktops · 1 decade ago

Help - I want to upgrade (add memory/speed) my HPDC7100SFF.?

I'm new to this, and don't know whether to add RAM or storage space. I want my computer faster and also more storage space, is there a website out there for new people out there that know nothing about computers and helps people upgrade? Any help would be appretiated. Thanks!

Update:

Also runs XP and Pentium 4, how do I know what I need - RAM/ROM etc.

Update 2:

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Upgrading RAM will make your computer run porgrams faster and more efficiently, and is something you can do easily by yourself.

The first step is to find out what specific type of memory your computer will need. Search Google or Yahoo! for the specs on your model, or consult the owner's manual. An example of a computer's memory type would be: PC5300 DDR2 or PC2-5300 DDR2. Next, find the memory at your local electronics store or online. RAM memory cards are usually relatively inexpensive. You can opt for 256, 512 or 1024 megabytes. (1024mb is equal to one gigabyte) However, it is important that you do not buy more memory than your computer will support. (Max RAM should also be found in the owner's manual or on-line.) Most desktops max out around 2gb.

Now for the tough part: Once you have the RAM, you'll want to open the case of your computer's tower. Make sure the computer is turned OFF. Unplug it for additional safety. The motherboard, a flat plastic pannel with computer chips and electronic wiring should have two slots; most likely, only one slot will be holding a RAM card. Locate the two plastic latches on wither side of each slot, and gently ease them open. Insert your new RAM card into the empty slot, secure the latches, and close the tower's covering.