Advice on how to talk to youngest sister about sex? ?

I have been raising my sister for 5 years since our parents died. She is now 15 years old and is starting to get a lot of attention from guys. Now being a guy I know exactly what is going on in their minds. How do I talk to my sister about being safe and responsible without it getting weird? Should I be honest with her about what I have done and hope she learns from my mistakes?

Update:

The thing is I heard " Just say no" over and over and over as a teen and it didn't work at all. I think that I should tell her to say no as much as possible but if she is going to do it, she needs protection.

16 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Keep it lighthearted but make it clear that you're serious, too. DO NOT tell her that abstinence is the only way. That's a load of crap and has never convinced a single high school student that I've ever met.

You should talk to her honestly and openly about everything you know. Make it seem more like you're just having a casual conversation than trying to educate her.

I would start off by asking her what she knows about sex. She may be hesitant, but chances are at 15 she already knows a lot. She may or may not tell you.

Tell her everything you know. She's old enough to be able to handle the uncensored truth. Put emphasis on birth control, preventing STD's and not giving into pressure and waiting until you're ready. Don't tell her not to do it yet, because that will make her feel like you're treating her like a child. However, let her know that it's so important to wait until she's ready. You could vaguely mention some of your regrets and if she asks, then go into more detail.

Above all, be honest. She'll be able to tell if you're bull shitting her. If you don't believe someone should necessarily wait until they're married, don't tell her that.