FrAnK Da TaNk asked in SportsRunning · 1 decade ago

signing and paying RUNNING MARATHONS?

how can someone sign up register etc for a running marathon ? and is it always necessary to pay a charity fee to enter

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

All marathons have an entry fee, but they can vary in price. While much of everything involves volunteers and donations (bagels, gatorade, water cups, music, awards, champion chips, etc.), some of it needs some financial support. Most do support a charity too, which is in the spirit of many runners - i.e. run in the name of someone or some group.

Those that enter races without paying are called bandits. If everyone were a bandit, who would put on races?!

Source(s): I've been running and racing for 15 years!
  • 5 years ago