Who should I see to get a home mortgage loan?

My daughter is getting ready to buy a home from a family member. The family lawyer will handle the actual transaction. She needs to get a loan for the mortgage.

Should she talk to her bank (Wachovia) or a mortgage company? Which is cheaper as far as their fees? Who could give her the best interest rate considering how the sale will be handled?

there is no real estate agency or agent involved. She only needs to borrow $50,000.

the only thing I know is she needs to go ahead and get pre-approved now so she can be ready to buy as soon as the final price of the house is set.

HELP, Please????

Update:

To Kayleigh: Well, we do know this much. It will be a fixed rate loan for between 15 and 30 years. The shorter the better.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi, I am one of your contacts & just happened to be looking at my contacts questions. I work as a mortgage lender (for last 22 years). Please do NOT go with anyone on Y/A who calls you "dear". Know what I mean?? They are the desperate lenders who will rip you off!. Don't go to Wachovia- have you heard todays news about them? Someone on here mentioned a gift of equity- good idea. FHA has really good programs, no loan limits- low fixed rates. You can go to www.fha.gov - there is a place to key in your zip code to find an FHA lender approved in your area. Call them for free pre-approval. If a lender is FHA approved you are assured that they have been looked at HARD by the government. I believe it took my company approximately 6 months for approval- which was 10 years ago- it takes even longer now. I would suggest your daughter go 30 years for lower payment- then if she makes one extra principal payment per month it pays off in 15 years. She should expect to pay about 2-3% in closing costs which may include origination, flood cert, credit bureau, processing, title insurance, closing fees, doc prep, and recording of the deed or mortgage and state ta