How do I convince my parents to let me grow long hair?(I am a male)?

I have asked before, I don't like getting haircuts, and when I ask why I must get a hair cut, or why I can't have long hair they respond with "Because I say so," or something similar. I doubt its a moral or religious reason, and around here, I don't believe its gang affiliated. Quite frankly I think long hair just looks awesome, I think it can even make a guy look manly. Please, if anyone has had this problem before, or may have some insight ,please contribute. (Of course, I don't want it to edit my looks, I want it because I want to at least experience it.)

Update:

I am 16, and for the most part I follow most of their rules, do all my chores, I am a high honors student, and respect them.

Update 2:

I am not trying to fit in, I live in a very gang affiliated neighborhood, where everyone has short hair cuts, fades, graphics, and such. Most of them has some form of gang affiliation.

Update 3:

Yes, I take care of my hair. I don't mind dishing out 20 bucks for conditioner. I used to style with gel, but it was sticky, messy, and I didn't feel comfortable most of the time. I like my soft loose hair, but they want me to always wear it short, and are always telling me to style it, "like I used to"'.

Update 4:

As you can no doubt see, I am monitoring this question. I set up a feed, email alerts, and I will be logging in regular. This is very important to me, please if you have anything to contribute please do so. I will try to drop by whenever possible during the period this answer is active.

Update 5: