Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceOther - Education · 1 decade ago

Is there a difference between editions for college textbooks?

I'm a freshman in college. I'm a noob at this (lol) and I want to buy my textbooks at a cheap price, but my class requires the 4th edition of a book. All I'm finding on amazon.com and other sites like that are the 3rd edition. Is there really a difference between the books? Can i just buy the 3rd edition instead? Please help me out. Thank you. :D

18 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

the only thing you can do is email your professor and ask him if its possible to use an older edition of the book. i do that for some classes, but not for others. it depends on the class. sometimes i even wait for the first day to assess how often i will need the book. for most schools you can even find sites where students from your school sell their textbooks for cheaper.

• Anonymous
    4 years ago

Source(s): Good Writing Job http://givitry.info/WritingJobsOnline
  • Anonymous
    5 years ago

This Site Might Help You.

RE:

Is there a difference between editions for college textbooks?

I'm a freshman in college. I'm a noob at this (lol) and I want to buy my textbooks at a cheap price, but my class requires the 4th edition of a book. All I'm finding on amazon.com and other sites like that are the 3rd edition. Is there really a difference between the books? Can i just buy the 3rd...

Source(s): difference editions college textbooks: https://biturl.im/4lzXZ
  • 1 decade ago

yes there is a difference, but ask your prof. to see if you can use another version.

sometimes, there actually is addition material, but most of the time it's just a section chopped out while the rest of the book is identical. Once in a while the school text includes an online resource or access to a class site that u'll have to buy separately or see if the the bundle's cheaper.